IEEE International Conference on Communications
20-24 May 2018 // Kansas City, MO, USA
Communications for Connecting Humanity

ICC 2018 Best Papers

IEEE ICC 2018 Best Papers (15 papers)

  • Symposium on Selected Areas in Communications (SAC)
SAC Group 1:
Cheng Huang, Dongxiao Liu; Jianbing Ni; Rongxing Lu; Sherman Shen
“Reliable and Privacy-Preserving Selective Data Aggregation for Fog-Based IoT”
SAC Group 2:
Wei Song and Yiming Zhao
“Efficient Interference-Aware D2D Pairing for Collaborative Data Dissemination”
  • Ad-Hoc and Sensor Networking Symposium (AHSN)
Robert Webster; Kumudu S Munasinghe; Abbas Jamalipour
“Murmuration Inspired Clustering Protocol for Underwater Wireless Sensor Networks”
  • Cognitive Radio and Networking Symposium (CRN)
Cheng-Shang Chang, Yeh-Cheng Chang and Jang-Ping Sheu
“A Fast Multi-Radio Rendezvous Algorithm in Heterogeneous Cognitive Radio Networks”
  • Communications and Information System Security Symposium (CISS)
Sahil Garg; Kuljeet Kaur; Neeraj Kumar; Shalini Batra; Mohammad S. Obaidat
“HyClass: Hybrid Classification Model for AnomalyDetection in Cloud Environment”
  • Communications QoS, Reliability and Modelling Symposium (CQRM)
Amaury Van Bemten; Jochen W. Guck; Carmen Mas Machuca; Wolfgang Kellerer
“Routing Metrics Depending on Previous Edges: The Mn Taxonomy and its Corresponding Solutions“
  • Communications Software, Services and Multimedia Applications Symposium (CSSMA)
Francesco Foresta, Walter Cerroni, Luca Foschini, Gianluca Davoli, Chiara Contoli, Antonio Corradi and Franco Callegati
“Improving OpenStack Networking: Advantages and Performance of Native SDN Integration”
  • Communication Theory Symposium (CT)
Mojtaba Ahmadi Almasi, Hani Mehrpouyan, Vida Vakilian, Nader Behdad, Hamid Jafarkhani
“A New Reconfigurable Antenna MIMO Architecture for mmWave Communication”
  • Green Communication Systems and Networks Symposium (GCSN)
Yang Chen, Jie Wu
“Multi-hop Coflow Routing and Scheduling in Data Centers”
  • Next Generation Networking and Internet Symposium (NGNI)
Shikhar Verma, Yuichi Kawamoto, Hiroki Nishiyama, Nei Kato, and Chih-Wei Huang
“Novel Group Paging Scheme for Improving Energy Efficiency of IoT Devices over LTE-A Pro Networks with QoS Considerations”
  • Optical Networks and Systems Symposium (ONS)
Anil Yesilkaya, Tezcan Cogalan, Erdal Panayirci, Harald Haas, H. Vincent Poor
“Achieving Minimum Error in Miso Optical Spatial Modulation”
  • Signal Processing for Communications Symposium (SPC)
Xinyu Gao; Linglong Dai; Shidong Zhou; Akbar Sayeed; Lajos Hanzo
“Beamspace Channel Estimation for Wideband Millimeter-Wave MIMO with Lens Antenna Array”
  • Wireless Communications Symposium (WCS)
Ling Liu; Yiqing Zhou; Lin Tian; Bule Sun; Jinglin Shi
“Interference Aware CoMP for Macrocell-based Heterogeneous Ultra Dense Cellular Networks”
Zhiqiang Wei; Lou Zhao; Jiajia Guo; Derrick Wing Kwan Ng; Jinhong Yuan
“A Multi-Beam NOMA Framework for Hybrid mmWave Systems” 
  • Wireless Networking Symposium (WN)
Xi Zhang and Qixuan Zhu
Collaborative Hierarchical Caching Over 5G Edge Computing Mobile Wireless Networks

IEEE ICC 2018 Best Paper Awards Procedure

As specified on the Section 6.7 of the IEEE ComSoc GITC Handbook, at IEEE ICC 2018, the TPC Chair confers multiple Best Paper Awards (BPAs). Ultimately, it is the TPC Chair’s responsibility for overseeing the BPA selection process, with the assistance of the two TPC Co-Chairs.    
Number and Allocation of Awards
There will be total 15 best papers awarded by IEEE ICC 2018, distributed below, which is roughly proportional to the original number of paper submissions.
  • One best paper for each of the eleven symposiums: AHSN, CISS, CQRM, CRN, CSSMA, CT, GCSN, NGNI, ONS, SPC, WN;
  • Two best papers for WCS;
  • One best paper for the combined SAC tracks 1, 2, 3, 4, 5;
  • One best paper for the combined SAC tracks 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12;
Nomination and Eligibility
Papers will be nominated for the BPA based on the recommendation of the symposium chairs and/or the TPC Chair & Co-Chairs. The number of nominated papers per symposium is as follows:
  • Four nominations for WCS;
  • Two nominations for each of the symposia AHSN, CISS, CQRM, CRN, CSSMA, CT, GCSN, NGNI, ONS, SPC, WN;
  • Two nominations for combined SAC tracks 1, 2, 3, 4, 5;
  • Two nominations for combined SAC tracks 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12;
Symposium chairs should look at more than just EDAS scores to select their nominations.  For instance, impact and timeliness of topic are important criteria.  However, each nominated paper must have an EDAS score that is within the top 20% of papers for that symposium (or SAC track).
Each nomination should be accompanied by a short nomination statement.
The TPC Chair should check each nomination to determine that there are no conflicts of interest (perceived or actual) with the symposium/track chairs.  If there are conflicts or if the symposium chairs cannot arrive at a consensus, then the TPC Chair may intervene by appointing a subcommittee, consisting of up to 4 members from the BPA committee, with the charge of nominating the requisite number of papers for that symposium.  
If a paper includes any of the following as an author, it is not eligible for an award: 
(1) Members of the technical program leadership team (e.g., ICC 2018 Conference Executive Team), 
(2) Symposia Co-Chairs (even if from a different symposia), and 
(3) Members of the BPA Committee
Selection Committee and Procedure
The TPC chair will appoint a BPA committee.  The committee will be chaired by the TPC Chair & the two TPC Co-Chairs.  The committee will consist of at least 14 individuals considered to have high integrity, recommended by symposia co-chairs, and approved by the TPC Chair.  Symposia Co-Chairs are not eligible to serve on the BPA committee.
  • Each of the 12 symposia will recommend one BPA committee member to the TPC Chair;
  • The combined SAC tracks 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 will recommend one BPA committee member to the TPC Chair;
  • The combined SAC tracks 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 will recommend one BPA committee member to the TPC Chair;
The papers, nomination statements, and reviews will be made available to the committee.
If a symposium has one award (i.e., two nominations), then each member will vote for one paper in that symposium, and the paper with the most votes will receive the award.  If a symposium has two awards, then each member will provide a ranking of the nominated papers, and the rankings will be used to determine the two recipients.   
The TPC Chair and the two TPC Co-Chairs do not vote, except to break a tie.  
If the committee feels that none of the papers nominated for a symposium are worthy of an award, they may ask the TPC chair for additional nominations, and may choose not to give an award in that symposium.
Time Lines
  • Recommend BPA committee members to the TPC Chair & Co-Chairs, by March 29, 2018
  • Nominate best paper candidates to the TPC Co-Chairs, by April 6, 2018
  • TPC Co-Chairs forward all the best paper candidates to the BPA Committee immediately by the closing day April 6; The BPA Committee submit the BPA evaluations and voting by April 23, 2018.
Each of the lead symposium co-chairs for the 12 symposia will be the point of contact to the BPA selection procedure for their own symposium;
The point of contact for the combined SAC tracks 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 will be Shui Yu (Chair of SAC 2);
The point of contact for the combined SAC tracks 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12 will be Vincent Wong (Chair of SAC 8).